RSS Feed

Dummy Me Can’t Drive 55

Posted on

I was talking on my cell and didn’t notice the Chippie hanging off my six until he pulled along side me to flash me five fingers twice.

Guess my foot was leaning too comfortably on the gas and I was hitting nearly 65 in a 55 zone. (Where I live there’s a stretch of road that’s heavily patrolled because some folks just drive way too fast. Imagine that.)

I was thankful I didn’t get a ticket. And thank you, Bluetooth. The CHP officer could have just as easily lavished me with a two-for-one special instead of a “Heads-up, Dummy!”

After dropping a few pounds off the gas pedal and finishing my call (close call?), I realized that I was so wrapped up in what I was doing and thinking that I completely spaced on everything around me. In fact, I wasn’t sure of what I had seen on the way from the house to the freeway. How many cars had I passed? Did I really stop at the red light? How long was that Chippie following me?

Aaaargh. I’ve been here before. And it reminded me that I needed to slow down – again.

Sometimes it’s easy to get lost in your thoughts and dreams. Ideas can come at any time and when they do it’s at the speed of thought. Capturing them can be work and can take time. I know at times I’ve caught myself thinking I must push ahead and get everything down on paper. Time is passing quickly. So I MUST be first. I MUST finish this thought. I MUST make this last recording.

But I’ve learned through several deep drops into the angst well that going hell bent for leather 24/7/365 eventually puts up a roadblock to my creativity and productivity. And it can be a real drag to a balanced life always being “on”.

So I decided to accept an invitation from several friends to hike Mt. Woodson. They wanted to show me the “Potato Chip”, a thin, flat outcropping of rock that’s famous in the area. A short drive later I was parking my car at the base of the trail. Oh, boy. This was going to be a long…steep…hike.

I think I counted 30 switchbacks on the climb up, places where the trail cuts back on itself slightly before continuing to the top of the mountain. I had to lean forward like some long jump skier just to walk because the slope was so steep. Thoughts of bumping my nose to the trail were starting to bubble into my head.

By the time I crested the summit I was 10 pounds lighter, most of that “lost” weight soaking my t-shirt. My legs were achy and my feet tender and hot. I don’t recommend wearing sneakers to hike in. But that gorgeous sunset vista massaged away the soreness of the blisters on my feet and the pinching throb of the ever-present torn meniscus in my left knee. The Potato Chip was just amazing, too. It jutted out of the face of the trailside boulders like Jay Leno’s chin. How cool was that! Great place for Yoga poses, too.

Finally, what seemed like a boatload of hours later, I was back down the mountain and on my way home. I started to think about how difficult that hike had been. And I thought about how I finished strong and about the other hikers I’d met along the way. That felt really uplifting. I also came away with ideas for some new products and an invitation to lunch to discuss a business opportunity. Not bad for two hours of hobbling sweat equity, eh?

So note to self and all you creative thinkers, entrepreneurs, and tinkerers: once in while take some time to check out your six. And slow down. Creativity — and Life — has a way of working itself out for you.

And you just might get where you want to go — without speeding.

Now that’s the ticket.

© 2010 Dummy Zero™ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

