RSS Feed

A Big Dummy Try is All You Need to Succeed

Posted on

I was reading this sports story, St. George’s Calls an Audible, about a Rhode Island high school that pulled out of a game because of the size of the other team’s players.

The opposing team’s players were not just huge; they were NFL gigantic when compared to the “smaller” team’s players. And because of that disparity, the St. George coaches pulled out of the game because they were worried about the safety of their players.

So what does this have to do with my blog? Well, my issue with what the coaches did – understanding that I’d worry about my sons playing against those behemoths – is that the kids didn’t’ get even get a chance to test their mettle. They didn’t even get to try.

Playing that game for a kid would’ve been a good life lesson – it’s not the size of the dog in the fight; it’s the size of the fight in the dog. You’ve got to meet challenges head on and with skill, preparation, and the belief that you will finish no matter what. Okay, you may get knocked down more so than others. I did. But so what. You’re in the game to play and to win. So you get back up, get in the game, and you keep trying!

The takeaway from this story is especially appropriate for us creative types who try to participate in the business arena.

You’re going to find opposing players – both companies and individuals – exponentially bigger and maybe more talented than you are. You’re also going to run into people who nay say your creative bent. I know I did. But I continued. And so should you. Don’t sideline your talent, your invention, your idea or your tinkering because of what others think or say – or what you imagine they can do to you. Move forward. And keep your brain out of their gutter.

Eighty percent of the battle is getting out there and trying. The rest is how you use your gifts to realize your dreams. In fact, you can’t play if you don’t start. And you definitely can’t win if you don’t play. (Can you imagine what kind of junk we’d have in our lives if there were no competitors to beat or innovative products to use created by people like us? We’d still be reading those nasty DOS encylopedias. :-))

I didn’t give a crap about giant publishers like Wiley or Que because I knew in my gut that I was on to something. I already formed my own publishing company. And I went out and wore a path in book aisles for nearly a year before I made my move (that’s a really s-l-o-w game). Then I took action to make my dream of publishing and writing come true.

Now grab your ideas and gizmos and tinkerings and creative Pandas by the short fuzzy hairs. Then get that bloody helmet on and step up to the line. Time to show the world – and yourself – what you’re made of.

Game’s on!

© 2010 Dummy Zero™ All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

